Radio Book Club: Bonnie-Sue Hitchcock’s “The Smell of Other People’s Houses”

In this month’s Radio Book Club, we spoke with Bonnie-Sue Hitchcock about her debut Young Adult (YA) novel The Smell of Other People’s Houses.

About the book: In Alaska, 1970, being a teenager here isn t like being a teenager anywhere else. This deeply moving and authentic debut is for fans of Rainbow Rowell, Louise Erdrich, Sherman Alexie, and Benjamin Alire Saenz. Intertwining stories of love, tragedy, wild luck, and salvation on the edge of America’s Last Frontier introduce a writer of rare talent.

Ruth has a secret that she can t hide forever. Dora wonders if she can ever truly escape where she comes from, even when good luck strikes. Alyce is trying to reconcile her desire to dance, with the life she’s always known on her family’s fishing boat. Hank and his brothers decide it’s safer to run away than to stay home until one of them ends up in terrible danger.

Four very different lives are about to become entangled. This unforgettable book is about people who try to save each other and how sometimes, when they least expect it, they succeed.

  • cover play_arrow

    Radio Book Club: Bonnie-Sue Hitchcock’s “The Smell of Other People’s Houses” kgnu

 

About Radio Bookclub:

KGNU is partnering with the Boulder Bookstore for our radio book club. Every month Arsen Kashkashian, head buyer at the Boulder Bookstore, will select a book to inspire the KGNU listening audience to read along together. We will then be joined live in studio by the author for a call in show and book discussion. Arsen Kashkashian says participating in a bookclub is a great dynamic way for readers to enjoy a book.

See previous Bookclub selections here.

  • cover play_arrow

    Radio Book Club: Bonnie-Sue Hitchcock’s “The Smell of Other People’s Houses” kgnu

Picture of kgnu

kgnu

Search

Now Playing

Recent Stories

Upcoming Events

KGNU PARTNERS

0%

This May 1st and 2nd, we’re encouraging you to give and to publicly express what KGNU personally means to you.

We join other public and local stations across the country for this second annual event. It’s your forum to support and champion how KGNU connects with your values.

Donate

Learn More